The muffin that no one can resist

JPEG_20141026_180242_-64376376

I have a love/hate relationship with pumpkins. I do think they add a nice flavor to fall baking, but I have, in the past, been the victim of pumpkin OD. For a brief time I was a member of a sorority, and for an even briefer time I live in said sorority house. Our cook, Mary, had an unhealthy obsession with pumpkin- pumpkin cookies, pumpkin pancakes,pumpkin muffins… you name it. She took it so far that one day some of my very funny housemates added the word “pumpkin” in front of every single item listed on the week’s chalkboard menu. (I wish I still had the picture of that but we’re old and it was pre-smart phones.) After that, the pumpkin faded. Thank goodness.

Fast forward many years and my friend Melissa made these incredible muffins for my daughter during a play date at her house. My daughter was obsessed. Now both of my daughters, my husband and my Dad are obsessed. So here you go. Make them tonight and see for yourself.

PS- A great thing about this recipe is that you don’t even need to break out the stand mixer. All you need is a bowl and a spoon.

PPS- Just to prove I am a total disaster here is what I did just prior to baking these today:

20141026_171925

Here’s what you need:

pumpkin

  • 1 and 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin (a heaping cup is fine)
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 and ¼ cups white sugar
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • ¼ tsp ginger
  • ¼ tsp cloves

Here’s how to make them:

  1. Whisk together flour and baking powder in a small bowl.
  2. Whisk together all other ingredients in a big bowl. Add flour mixture and mix until combined.*
  3. Spray muffin pan with Baker’s Joy and pour in mixture.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for 18-20 minutes (for mini-muffins).

*I also sprinkle some chocolate chips on top of mine because, why not?

1 reply

Leave a comment